Gessnerallee
Zürich


IM/POSSIBLE
SPACES
2019/2020

In the winter of 2018, Gessnerallee Zürich sent out an open call with the title «Im/Possible Spaces». What was being sought were experimental aesthetic approaches dealing with the Im/Possible. Not only Im/Possible in musical, theatrical, or visual terms, but also as socio-political premises – everything was possible. From 166 proposals, six of the submitted concepts were selected. The groups move in for two weeks either into the Nordflügel or the Südbühne and give a two-day glimpse into their work.


Adrian Ganea & Maria Guta
«Cyberia»

Friday / 15 November / 21.00 / Südbühne
Sunday / 17 November / 18.00 / Südbühne


limited capacity / free entrance / reservation required:
kasse.DELETE.(at).REMOVE.gessnerallee.ch.IGNOREME.COM

In a world oversaturated by digital data, mysticism and the paranormal are as popular as ever. As facts are gradually replaced by feelings and complexity by simple, reactionary positions, we undergo a perpetual shift towards a kind of archaic religiosity. Emerging technologies are increasingly incorporated in this form of postmodern spirituality, as the science fiction author Arthur C. Clarke pointed out: «Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic».

Cyberia is a twilight zone, a world in between the space of the Gessnerallee and a congruent computer-generated 3D environment. This hybrid world houses a symbiotic being, a synergy between the material body of a performer and a semi-autonomous humanoid CG avatar located in a bottomless pit of delusions. Between digital video projections and a physical setting, using the mechanics of a videogame with a motion-capture suit, we simulate an endless state just before the climax.


Olympia Bukkakis & Camille Lacadee
& Isabel Gatzke
«Under Pressures»

Friday / 13 December / 19.00 - 22.00 / Südbühne
Saturday / 14 December / 19.00 - 22.00 / Südbühne


free entrance anytime possible

We find ourselves in the social, political, environmental, and economic wreckage of decades of dominance of the neoliberal cult of the individual. In this context, where cost-saving measures have generated a discontent that serves as a fertile ground for right extremist ideas and where the egotism of global elites has triggered potentially catastrophic climate change and the collapse of our ecosystem, it is no longer possible to pretend that individuals exist only for themselves and detached from their surroundings: The interests of individuals are inseparable from those of the collective and also of the ecological system that sustain them.

Focusing on this interdependence, Under Pressures develops a series of personages, who continuously negotiate the ever-changing relationship between set, performer, and audience. Consisting of elastic material extended through stretching as well as via cutting and other techniques, the set only comes alive through the influencing exertion of the performer. Territories and shapes are produced, which the performers use as protection, hiding place, clothing, extension, and the means of reaching out. Taken to the limit of the material, Under Pressures is a game with no fixed point under the conditions of pressure, release, and rupturing. Here decay means that at any moment once again a new shape emerges.


Luisa Ricar
«Facing Others»

06 - 19 January 2020

Digital communication overcomes boundaries, opens up opportunities, and creates friendships. But through this means do we really go outside of our bubble? With whom can we and do we want to communicate and who has access to cross-border contact? Thereby is the «Digital Natives» generation really more open and unprejudiced and where does the threshold of the comfort zone lie?

Facing Others is a social experiment that serves to create a space that overcomes the Impossible: the Impossible created through societal structures, the fear of the foreigner, and based in maintaining individual comfort. During the experiment, the visitor has the opportunity to chat with a completely different person and using a software program to create an avatar of the other person, a person with whom she or he would otherwise never come into contact, a person who is one of the most vulnerable and isolated human beings in our society.

Come and leave your comfort zone – face the other!


- Black Performance Lab - 
Brandy Butler, Edwin Ramirez, Hermes Schneider, Meloe Gennai, Rahel El-Maawi
«We Real Cool»

02 - 15 March 2020

The Black Performance Lab provides Black Queer artists a safe space in which they can critically explore their biographical experiences. In workshops and courses, tools are made available to artists, which serve as a lens through which they can individually reflect upon their personal identification with «Blackness» and «Queerness». Because the laboratory is a space strictly limited to participants from the African Diaspora, it is also intended to be used as a source of unification of «Blackness», which has traditionally been splintered by colonialism and slavery. At the end of the laboratory, artists are free to share part of their personal dialogue with an audience. The laboratory creates new narratives and provides Black artists with the opportunity to develop their own ideas about how Black bodies can and will move in performative spaces.


Mars travel agency
«Fridge – of Space and Time»
an Experiment

27 April - 10 May 2020

In the beginning there was a fridge. And everything began with the opening of the fridge. At least a beginning began. And from the beginning a Something spread out: time and space and the universe. And there was the sausage and the cheese, the light and the humming of the cooling elements and everything spread out in the room, formatted, expanded, and deformed into infinity. Or until somebody closes the fridge again.

In their work planned for the Südbühne, the Zurich collective mars travel agency sees the fridge as the door to an impossible space-time world of perception. Here they manipulate, interpret, deform, and design the sense of time of the spectators and explore the perception of an event. Fridge is a spatial-temporal composition of image, sound, smell, and taste, completely without language.


Maya Rochat & Sarah Burger and Guests
«Sublime Reloaded»

18 - 31 May 2020

The sublime feeling described and analyzed in the Enlightenment unites the inherent contradiction that a natural event can be overwhelming – elementally speaking, violent – and, at the same time, it can be captivating and trigger wonder. In the Anthropocene epoch, the power of the sublime, once reserved for natural events, can be transferred to human actions: the sheer flood of consumer goods, the garbage washed up on the beaches of this world, the exorbitant wealth of the few, and the existential crisis of other human beings, the still-lasting beauty of natural and cultural powers and abilities, the intimate moments of love, the happiness of friendship, as well as the insights into and functioning of technical, physical, and biological interconnections, all characterize a world that is difficult to grasp. Our place earth has become an (im)possible place: it is a place of massive contrasts and incompatibilities, simultaneously hair-raising, stifling, and wonderful.

Sublime Reloaded is an extensive spatial installation incorporating large-scale prints, video projections, and sound as well as discarded, found, and contrived objects, which are performatively and musically expanded and transformed during the exhibition period.


Unterstützt von Ernst Göhner Stiftung und Migros Kulturprozent

Gessnerallee
Zürich


IM/POSSIBLE
SPACES
2019/2020

Im Winter 2018 verschickte die Gessnerallee einen Open Call mit dem Titel Im/Possible Spaces. Gesucht wurden experimentelle ästhetische Zugriffe, die sich mit dem Un/Möglichen auseinandersetzen.
Un/Mögliche musikalische, theatrale, visuelle, aber auch gesellschaftspolitische Räume - alles war möglich. Aus 166 Bewerbungen wurden 6 eingesendete Konzepte ausgewählt. Die Gruppen ziehen für jeweils zwei Wochen in den Nordflügel oder in die Südbühne und geben an zwei Tagen Einblick in ihre Arbeit.


Adrian Ganea & Maria Guta
«Cyberia»

28 Oktober - 17 November 2019

In einer von digitalen Daten übersättigten Welt sind Mystizismus und das Paranormale populärer denn je. Genauso wie Fakten von Gefühlen ersetzt werden und Komplexität von simplen reaktionären Positionen, erleben wir eine unaufhörliche Verschiebung in Richtung einer Art archaischen Religiosität. Neue Technologien werden von dieser postmodernen Spiritualität immer mehr vereinnahmt. Denn wie der Science-Fiction Autor Arthur C. Clarke ausweist, ist «jede ernstzunehmend fortschrittliche Technologie von Magie nicht zu unterscheiden».

Cyberia ist ein Grenzgebiet, eine Welt zwischen dem Raum der Gessnerallee und einer übereinstimmenden, computergenerierten 3D-Umgebung. Dieser hybride Ort wird durch ein symbiotisches Wesen belebt; eine Synergie zwischen dem materiellen Körper einer Darstellerin und einem halbautonomen humanoiden CG-Avatar, die sich beide vor einem Abgrund aus Wahnvorstellungen befinden. Zwischen digitalen Videoprojektionen und einer physischen Umgebung inszenieren Ganea & Guta mit Hilfe einer Videospiel-Software und einem Motion-Capture-Anzug eine Simulation eines endlosen Zustands kurz vor dem Höhepunkt.


Olympia Bukkakis & Camille Lacadee
& Isabel Gatzke
«Under Pressures»

02 - 15 Dezember 2019

Wir befinden uns in den sozialen, politischen, ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Trümmern der jahrzehntelangen Dominanz eines neoliberalen Personenkults. In diesem Kontext, in dem Sparmassnahmen eine Unzufriedenheit geschaffen haben, die fruchtbarer Boden für rechtsextreme Ideen ist, und in dem der Egoismus der globalen Eliten einen potenziell katastrophalen Klimawandel und den Zusammenbruch unseres Ökosysteme ausgelöst hat, ist es nicht länger möglich zu tun als würde das Individuum nur für sich und losgelöst von seiner Umgebung existieren. Denn die Interessen der Einzelnen sind vielmehr untrennbar mit denen des Kollektivs und der ökologischen Systeme, die es unterstützen, verbunden.

Mit Fokus auf diese Abhängigkeiten entwickelt «Under Pressures» eine Reihe von Personagen, die die sich immer wieder ändernden Beziehung zwischen dem Bühnenraum, der Performerin und dem Publikum ausloten. Das aus elastischem Material bestehende Bühnenbild wird erst durch die Einflussnahme der Performerin lebendig. Es entstehen Territorien und Formen, die sie verwendet, um sich zu schützen, sich zu verstecken, sich anzuziehen, sich auszudehnen und nach außen zu greifen. Bis an die Grenzen des Materials. «Under Pressures» ein Spiel ohne Fixpunkt mit den Komponenten Druck, Loslassen und Zerreißen. Zerfall bedeutet hier in jedem Moment immer wieder nur eine neue Form.


Luisa Ricar
«Facing Others»

06 - 19 Januar 2020

Digitalisierte Kommunikation überwindet Grenzen, eröffnet Möglichkeiten, schafft Freundschaften. Aber bewegen wir uns damit wirklich ausserhalb unserer Bubble? Mit wem können und wollen wir kommunizieren und wer hat Zugang zu grenzüberwindendem Kontakt? Ist die Generation «Digital Natives» dadurch wirklich offener und vorurteilsfreier und wo liegt die Grenze der Komfortzone?

Mit «Facing Others» wird in einem sozialen Experiment ein Raum geschaffen, der das Unmögliche überwindet. Das Unmögliche, das durch gesellschaftliche Strukturen, der Angst gegenüber dem Fremden und der eigenen Bequemlichkeit geschaffen wird. Während des Experiments hat die Besucherin die Möglichkeit, mit einer völlig fremden Person zu chatten und mit Hilfe eines Programmes einen Avatar der anderen Person zu kreieren. Einer Person, mit der sie sonst wohl nie in Kontakt kommen würde. Eine Person, die wohl zu den verletzlichsten und isoliertesten Menschen in unserer Gesellschaft gehört.

Come and leave your comfort zone - face the other!


- Black Performance Lab - 
Brandy Butler, Edwin Ramirez, Hermes Schneider, Meloe Gennai, Rahel El-Maawi
«We Real Cool»

02 - 15 März 2020

Das «Black Performance Lab» bietet Schwarzen queeren Künstler*innen einen sicheren Raum, in dem sie ihre biografischen Erfahrungen kritisch befragen können. In Kursen und Workshops werden den Künstler*innen Werkzeuge zur Verfügung gestellt, die als Linse dienen, durch die sie ihre persönliche Identifikation mit «Blackness» und «Queerness» individuell reflektieren können. Da es sich bei dem Labor um einen Raum handelt, der strikt für Menschen aus der afrikanischen Diaspora ist, soll er auch Quelle für eine Vereinigung, durch die vom Kolonialismus und von der Sklaverei zersplitterte «Blackness» sein. Am Ende des Labors steht es den Künstler*innen frei, einen Teil ihres persönlichen Dialogs mit einem Publikum zu teilen. Das Lab schafft neue Erzählungen und gibt Schwarzen Künstler*innen die Möglichkeit, ihre eigenen Vorstellungen darüber zu entwickeln, wie sich Schwarze Körper in performativen Räumen bewegen können und bewegen werden.


Mars travel agency
«Fridge – von Raum und Zeit»
ein Experiment

27 April - 10 Mai 2020

Am Anfang war ein Kühlschrank. Und mit dem Öffnen des Kühlschrankes begann alles. Zumindest begann mal ein Anfang. Und aus dem Anfang dehnte sich ein Etwas aus; die Zeit und der Raum und das Alles. Und da war die Wurst, und der Käse, das Licht und das Surren der Kühlelemente und alles breitete sich im Raum aus, formatierte, expandierte, deformierte bis in die Unendlichkeit. Oder bis irgendjemand den Kühlschrank wieder schliesst.

In ihrer für die Südbühne geplanten Arbeit versteht das Zürcher Kollektiv mars travel agency den Kühlschrank als Tür zu einer unmöglichen Raum-Zeit-Wahrnehmungswelt. Hier manipulieren, interpretieren, deformieren und gestalten sie das Zeitgefühl der Zuschauer*innen und untersuchen die Wahrnehmung eines Ereignisses. Fridge ist eine Räumliche Zeitkomposition von Bild, Klang, Geruch und Geschmack, ganz ohne Sprache.


Maya Rochat & Sarah Burger mit Gästen
«Sublime Reloaded»

18 - 31 Mai 2020

Das in der Aufklärung beschriebene und analysierte Gefühl des Erhabenen (engl. «the sublime») vereint die Widersprüchlichkeit, dass ein Naturereignis gewaltig – wesenhaft gesprochen gewalttätig – sein, und zugleich Anziehung und Bewunderung auslösen kann.
Die einst Naturereignissen vorbehaltene Kraft des Erhabenen kann im Zeitalter des Anthropozäns auf menschliche Handlungen übertragen werden: Die schiere Flut an Konsumgütern, der an den Stränden dieser Welt angeschwemmte Abfall, der exorbitante Wohlstand weniger und die existentielle Not anderer Menschen, die nach wie vor anhaltende Schönheit von natürlichen und kulturellen Kräften und Fähigkeiten, die intimen Momente des Liebens, das Glück der Freundschaft, ebenso wie die Einsichten in und Anwendungen von technischen, physikalischen und biologischen Zusammenhängen zeichnen eine Welt, die nur noch schwer zu fassen ist. Unser Ort Erde ist zu einem (un)möglichen Ort geworden, einem Ort massiver Gegensätze und Unvereinbarkeiten, haarsträubend, erstickend und wundervoll zugleich.

«Sublime Reloaded» ist eine raumgreifende Installation aus grossflächigen Prints, Videoprojektionen und Sound sowie aus weggeworfenen, gefundenen und gemachten Objekten, die während der Ausstellungsdauer performativ und musikalisch erweitert und transformiert wird.


Unterstützt von Ernst Göhner Stiftung und Migros Kulturprozent